Amaretto – Fitzrovia

We all had a very tough week at work. Lots of pitches meant long hours in the office, so once our presentation document was finished, our boss treated us to lunch at Amaretto, a cozy little Italian restaurant off Tottenham Court Road.

I haven’t had proper Southern Italian food in a while and I almost never order pasta in a restaurant ever since I worked at Macaroni Grill. It sounded good.

We ordered some nibbles of bread and olives.  For some reason, I really like olives now. I even had olive bread. The bread was warm too. Triple bonus points for that.

amaretto olive bread

For starters we just ordered a few plates of bruschetta:

Bruschetta can sometimes go horrible wrong.  If it sits too long, you get really soggy oil bread with old tomatoes. This was none of those things – it was crisp, fresh and perfect. Wish it had a bit more basil though. Basil really makes a good bruschetta.

For my main: Homemade gnocchi in a tomato sauce with buffalo mozzarella gratin.

Wow. This was a-ma-zing.  I forgot how much I liked fatty pasta.  Crispy baked cheese on little potato dumplings. What more could you ask for? I mean, look at this gnocchi… When they say homemade, they mean homemade:

Absolutely delicious.

Love, love, love Amaretto.  I can’t believe I’ve walked by it nearly everyday for a year and never went in. Can’t wait to go back.

Amaretto on Urbanspoon

4 comments

  1. why do i read your blog before lunch! i, now, have a major craving for gnocchi, basta pasta gnocchi: purple japanese yam gnocchi in white lemon cream sauce topped with cheese and white chocolate shavings.

Leave a Reply

