La Menara – Fitzrovia

A few weeks ago, my friend Mihnea was in London from Bucharest for a day, so I suggested we get a lunch around my office. Having all but checked off every quick lunch spot on Charlotte Street, I set my eyes further afield: Cleveland Street – home to a few cute little places I haven’t tried yet, including La Menara a tiny Moroccan and Middle Eastern restaurant.

As we walk into La Menara, we’re greeted by the very jovial owner, and are offered our pick of the seats. The place is decked out in Moroccan-y decor – lots of gold and red and mix-matched chairs. It’s very homely (but in the British sense). Their lunch special menu offers some staple Middle Eastern dishes (Tagine, meatballs, falafel, etc.) each for £5.95. I pick one of two things that don’t have cucumber listed on the ingredients: the Lamb Shawarma with chips:
La Menara

Should have known though. When it came, there was cucumber in the salad. I apologised and asked if I could be made another one since I can’t have cucumber (Yes, I’ve become one of those people. Sorry, but it’s just easier to say you ‘can’t’ have something rather than, “my throat closes up and I dry heave at the thought of XYZ”). He seemed alright with that, and quickly returned to the kitchen. One minute later, my sandwich appeared miraculously without cucumbers. I knew that he’d just taken the salad off, and put a cuke-free one on in its place, but I didn’t say anything.

Sure enough, I take a bite, and I could still taste the remnants of those evil bits of pungent green monsters. I tried to eat around it the best I could, but the pita was soggy, the lamb overdone and the garlic sauce very meh. The chips were way too salty, so I didn’t even really enjoy those either.

::le sigh:: Not such a fan of the food. All all. The owner was really really really nice though. I might go there again and try something else just because of him.

La Menara on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

