The Garrison – London Bridge

I had a 10 am meeting down near London Bridge, which almost never happens. Most of my meetings are around Soho, Clerkenwell or Blackfriars. Secretly I was excited because I figured by the time the meeting was over it would be lunch time, and the perfect excuse to try a new restaurant in an area I never frequent.

Sure enough, meeting gets over and my work colleagues and I are starving. We went into The Garrison after one of my colleagues suggested it.

The restaurant is very quaint. Lots of old antique-y type decorations. It’s a more modern take on ‘French Countryside’ – lots of knickknacks and wood and pale blue. If someone described it to me, I wouldn’t like the sound of it, but being there, it was actually quite comforting.

We were seated in a booth and eventually handed menus. A random server came by and apologised for the wait. We weren’t really in a rush, but after 20 minutes of waiting, we started getting impatient. And then James came over. James, our amazing, brilliant, funny, charismatic server who I think us girls fell in love with a little bit (even though we all have significant others – have to put that in there!). After swooning a bit, we order.

Straight to the main course, I went with the Fricasee of Guinea Fowl served with Tagliatelle and Tarragon Sauce

Really tender meat and a nice light sauce. It wasn’t the most amazing thing I’ve ever had, but it was nice. It was a bit over-priced at £13.80.

I got to try one of my colleague’s dishes, the Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Mixed Mushrooms:

I really liked this. The gnocchi was clearly homemade and had a really nice subtle flavour and texture. I’m not a huge fan of mushrooms, so I probably wouldn’t get the dish on my own, but given another ingredient option, I would definitely go for it.

Looking back over the meal, I can’t say I was very impressed – especially because the lunch ended up taking about 2 hours to get through with all the waiting. However, service was brilliant, and if I was in the area, I’d go back for that.

Garrison on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

