Haché Burgers – Camden

Technically, I’ve been to Haché (pronounced ashay) before. It was nearly four years ago when I was just visiting London. I don’t remember much, but I do remember not being very impressed (despite the fact that a friend said it was one of the best burgers he’s ever had). I have a much fresher opinion now, and I’m sad to say that my disappointment still stands.

Their burger menu is immense, and there is certainly something for everyone. There are some really interesting combinations like Steak Louisiana – scotch beef burger topped with crunchy peanut butter and cheddar cheese – or the many varieties of falafel burgers, which look lovely. The night we went, I was on a beef overload from the Hawksmoor just a few days earlier, and wanted to opt for something slightly healthier. I went with the Jerk Chicken flavoured with Jerk Spices and topped with Caribbean Mango Chutney:

Hache

Dry, overcooked chicken with about as much jerk seasoning as the contents of a pepper grinder. A messy mango chutney that wasn’t entirely unpleasant, but more just like chopped up mango instead of a sauce. The ciabatta it was served on was cold and dry. Not impressed in the slightest, and at £8.95, I thought it was quite the rip-off.

Trying to remain healthy, I didn’t get a whole side to myself, but was able to steal an onion ring from someone else. A nice batter, but way too greasy. The kind of greasy that when you bite down, you can feel it seep down the back of your throat.

Hache

The problem is Haché has all the parts for a really pleasant dining experience. Eclectic burgers, nice decor, cozy surrounding, cool location – but the execution is all wrong. Quite simply, poor food and poor service. We waited for a good 20 minutes before someone came to the table. I don’t eat in Camden often, but I’m convinced there are far better places to go than here.

UPDATE:

I completely forgot to mention – if for some reason you do find yourself at Hache, stay clear of the house wine – it’s vile. Best, shell out another 20p to get something at least palatable.

Hache Burgers on Urbanspoon

One comment

  1. I agree completely.
    Style over substance.
    And I really really don’t like ciabatta as a burger bun, instead of easily biting through it, one ends up pulling at it like a beast with a bone, which in turn makes the burger squish and collapse… just not a pleasant dining experience.

Leave a Reply

