Hawksmoor – Shoreditch

There’s not a whole lot more that can be said about the Hawksmoor. From when they graciously donated the restaurant as the scene of the Blaggers Banquet to the 1,600-ish mentions of the Hawksmoor Burger online right now, they’ve been the darlings of the food blogging scene for quite some time.

I’d been wanting to see what all the fuss was about their infamous burger ever since I heard about them. Being American, I look at the current burger obsession in London with a bit of a raised eyebrow. To me, a burger is  something I’ll go out of my way for if I have a craving. The idea of the ‘perfect burger’ doesn’t exist. A good burger is a good burger, and it’s going to taste even better if I’m in the mood for it.

Luckily I was in the mood for one, the day I went to Hawksmoor.

We arrived a bit early for our 1:30 lunch, so a drink at the bar was in order. Despite the pissing down rain outside, I decided on a summery Mint Julep:

Hawksmoor

Now, I generally don’t write about drinks, but I have to rave about this one. The bartender clearly knew his stuff.  This was an excellent julep that anyone at the Kentucky Derby would have been proud to have.

After we finished our drinks, it was burger time. We ordered two with bacon and triple cooked chips:

Hawksmoor Burger

The beef, flecked with little bits of marrow, was of obvious quality. The homemade catchup, just chopped lettuce and melty cheese was a gorgeous combination – one that certainly lives up to its reputation.  And the chips… wow.  Turns out when you bake and fry the crap out of potato, it tastes really really good. Figures.

My only complaint is that the mayo was served on the burger automatically.  I don’t really like mayo, and I had to scrape it all off.  Usually, places put it on the side like they do catchup, and unfortunately I forgot to ask if they did that at the Hawksmoor. I know I’m not the only one in the world who isn’t keen on the fatty condiment – I wonder if they get that complaint often…

So, yes – just as everyone has said before – Hawksmoor is overall worth it.  I’ll be back.

Hawksmoor on Urbanspoon

3 comments

  1. Hi Melanie,

    Thanks for the review. Noone has ever mentioned the Mayo thing before as far as I’m aware! Always happy to put it on the side for you next time!

    Will

  2. I was searching through Google doing research for a blog when I came across this article and I found it very informative and interesting even though it wasn’t exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for the info and the enjoyable read – the burger looks delicious! Mouth watering here. Thanks xx

    Suzanne @ Cake in a Box Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

