L’Artisan du Chocolat and Macallan

Last year I went to a whisky and cake event with Qype, Outsider Tart and Compass Box. I remember being so excited, what’s better than whisky? And cake? Together!  And then, as I began to gorge myself, my stomach started took revenge. That’s when I learned (coupled with the Londonist ‘Best Cupcake Recipe‘ judging contest a week later) that too much sugar in one go is very very bad for you.

So when I was asked by Billy if I wanted to be his +1 to a chocolate and whisky tasting from l’Artisan du Chocolat and The Macallan, I immediately said yes, and then immediately started getting nervous.  Had I learnt my lesson?

Yes. The key is moderation. Something I’ve previously not been very good at!

The event took place at L’Artisan du Chocolat, a very posh chocolatier in Westbourne Grove.  As you enter, you’re greeted by the most futuristic chocolate shop in the world. It could have been a room in Willy Wonka if the Willy Wonka factory was near the pod toilets at Sketch.

As I walked in I was handed a Cocoa Pulp Bellini. Very yum. The tables were laid out with four tastes of Macallan whisky: the 12-year, 15-year, Select Oak and the Whisky Makers Edition.

Now I don’t profess to be an expert on whisky, quite the contrary. I do, however, know my chocolate, so please excuse me if I focus more on that. If you’re interested in the whisky, Billy’s done a much more thorough job here on  Billy’s Booze Blog. I hope he’ll excuse me from using his photos too – I, of course, forgot my camera that night.

First up was the 15-year paired with Jamaican 72% Dark Chocolate. I was so-so on this until they brought out another chocolate to try with it: Lemongrass and Ginger, which really brought out the sweetness from the whisky, more so than the bitter dark chocolate. (Have I mentioned I actually like lighter chocolates than dark? Sacrilegious, I know)

The next whisky was the Macallan 12, paired with the Mole Chilli bar. While I wasn’t too keen about either the whisky or the chocolate, I did appreciate the pairing. Gerry, from L’Artisan du Chocolat, explained the art of making a chilli chocolate bar, and it showed. The flavours were completely blended, where as many are just full-on chocolate followed by full-on chilli.

Next up was the Macallan Select Oak, paired with the Artisan Almond Milk Bar, a delicious chocolate bar using almond milk, and thus, lactose free and vegan. The chocolate was surprisingly good. Very creamy and with just a hint of almond. With the whisky, it was easily the best combination of the night. The chocolate really brought out the creaminess of the whisky.

And finally the Macallan Whisky Makers Edition, a very heavy whisky that was a bit much for me. They paired it with a ‘secret’ chocolate. As we tasted it, I was overwhelmed with smokiness. It was Tobacco Chocolate. I’m quite proud of myself that I guessed this first. The chocolate was an experiment for theArtisan team, and it’s an experience I’m not likely to repeat. The after taste of cigarettes was too much for me to handle, though the only smoker at the table seemed to like it just fine. Go figure. Those who didn’t like the tobacco were given a Cardamom-infused chocolate. I liked this better, though I’m not sure it’s something I would seek out again.

After the whisky tastings, we were given special chocolate truffles made with a creamy inside and infused with the respective whiskies. By this time, however, my stomach was aching, and I’m sad to say I couldn’t quite handle any more.

The goody bag was stocked with a lovely assortment of chocolates, and the Macallan 15-year, something I’ll happily enjoy at a later date.

All-in-all a good night. Even if I wasn’t over the moon about each chocolate, it’s very evident that Gerry and the crew, know exactly what they’re doing.

4 comments

  1. I was gutted to miss this, having already accepted an invitation to another event on the same evening.

    Sounds fab…

    Love your notes on all the pairings, very interesting, and thanks to intro to Billy’s site, hadn’t visited that before.

    Note: It’s Artisan du Chocolat not Artesian du Chocolat. :)

Leave a Reply

