Thai Girder – Southfields (Wimbledon)

Let’s just start off by saying I’m not a big fan of tennis. It’s not that I hate it, but it’s just not my thing. My dad, however, is, like, the biggest fan EVER. So much so, that he times his visit to London to coincide with the tournament. I promised to go with him if we got tickets, but I was mostly looking forward to the strawberries and cream and a place in London I hadn’t been before.

So we went to the first Saturday of the competition, saw a really long match between eventual winner Nadal and some German guy, and split some really good fish and chips and mediocre strawberries and cream. At the end of the day, exhausted from sitting quietly for 9 hours, and annoyed at the prospect of having to queue for the tube home, we decided to take a detour and eat dinner at a little Thai restaurant just down the street from Southfields tube.

Thai Girder is pretty busy, but not with Wimbledon folk, which is nice. We’re seated and greeted right away. The menu is typical Thai, nothing special.

My dad goes for the Thai Green Curry:

A decent recipe, but could have been a bit spicier. It was more creamy than anything. The portion was bordering on too small, but for my dad it was perfect. The courgettes and red peppers added a nice crunch.

I was feeling rather boring, so opted for good ol’ Pad Thai with Prawns:

Unfortunately, I wasn’t impressed. The whole point of Thai food is to be all flavours at once – a perfect harmony of sweet, spicy, bitter and sour. This was all sweetness. The noodles were soggy and really heavy. Missing, was any hint of citrus, which was made even more evident by the fact that it was served without a lime slice (I thought it was a Pad Thai garnish staple, no?).  If you can’t get Pad Thai right in a Thai restaurant, it doesn’t give you much hope for anything else.

Certainly not the place I’d travel back to, but as just a local Thai place for those in the area, it’ll do.

Thai Girder on Urbanspoon

One comment

Leave a Reply

