Recipe: Slow-cooked Welsh Lamb Tagine

I’ve always been a bit apprehensive of cooking red meat.  I like it a certain way, and because it can be rather expensive, I’d rather not give myself the chance to mess it up. Steaks, lamb and duck have been off-limits in my kitchen – until yesterday.

I was given the opportunity by the people at EatWelshLamb to try my hand at preparing a dish of my choice. While they encouraged me to be creative using a whole load of ingredients they sent me, I preferred to keep it simple by trying one of the many many recipes on the East Welsh Lamb website.

This easy recipe for a Moroccan-style tagine takes about an hour and a half to cook, with a good 20 minutes of prep time.  I took a couple liberties with it by adding tomatoes and dried apricots to the mix, but you certainly don’t have to.

The result was an absolutely gorgeous dish of very tender and rich slow-cooked lamb with savoury spices, a hint of sweetness and enough spice to tantalise your taste buds. I served mine over couscous.

The Welsh lamb was delicious, obviously high quality, and something I would cook again. It’s definitely helped me not be so scared of cooking red meat. Now if someone would just teach me how to do a decent pork belly…

Ingredients:

  • 450g (1lb) lean Welsh lamb cubes
  • 1 onion, cut into wedges
  • 15ml (1tbsp) ground cumin
  • 2.5ml (½tsp) ground cinnamon
  • 2.5ml (½tsp) ground ginger
  • 400g (approx) can chickpeas, drained
  • 300ml (½pt) lamb stock
  • 150ml (¼pt) orange and mango juice
  • 1 tin peeled tomatoes
  • Chopped dried apricots
  • 1 tsp harissa paste (or more if you like a kick)
  • 1 lemon, zest removed
  • Seasoning
  • 30ml (2tbsp) fresh mint, roughly chopped
  • 225g (8oz) couscous
  • Zest and juice 1 lemon
  • 30ml (2tbsp) fresh mint, roughly chopped

Temperature: Gas Mark 3, 170°C, 325°F

Place lean lamb cubes, onion, cumin, cinnamon, ginger, chick peas, stock, juice, tomatoes, apricots and zest into a large casserole dish. Cover and cook for 1-1½ hours until the meat is tender.

Remove lid and sprinkle on the couscous, lemon and seasoning.

Replace lid and return to oven for about 20 minutes until liquid has absorbed (add a little more stock if a little too dry).

Serve the tagine sprinkled with mint.

2 comments

  1. Just got back from my fourth Thanksgiving dinner where lamb neck and shank were cooked in tagine and I had to give you a wine recommendation: “herri mina” from Irouléguy by Jean-Claude Berrouet. My first RED Irouléguy (mostly tannat) and it was fantastic! Give it a try with this recipe.

Leave a Reply

