Plane Food – Heathrow Terminal 5

I go to Heathrow at least a couple times a year, and not once have I ever had the pleasure of flying out of Terminal 5. No, I’m always in the absolute craphole of Terminal 4 with it’s exposed electrical work and rubbish duty free. So it was with great pleasure that my India flight was on BA and that FINALLY after nearly three years of being open, I got to see what all the fuss is about.

I knew I had two stops: Mulberry (for a bit of tax-free naughty handbag shopping) and Plane Food, Gordon Ramsay’s cleverly-titled outpost smack-dab in the middle of the terminal.

Trying to get myself on Bangalore-time, I opted for lunch before noon. I wasn’t massively starving, so I went with the small portion of the Smoked Salmon and Haddock Fishcakes with Harissa Mayonnaise and a side of chips

The fish cake was fried to perfection.  Perfectly light and crispy and flaky in all the right places. The harissa mayo was rich and spicy. (Have I mentioned I’m now in love with harissa paste? I received a jar with my Welsh Lamb recipe book and it’s the best thing ever. It’s not replaced sriracha as my favourite spicy sauce, but it’s a close second.)

The chips, thick-cut and gorgeous, were the perfect side dish. I loved that they were served with individual jars of ketchup and mustard too. Though I forgot to take a picture, it was a nice touch!

With a sparkling water, pot of tea and service, the bill came to £21 – totally respectable for a nice place to eat in an airport. My only grip is that they charge £1.50 per person cover. Cover for what? Bread? Tap water? I really really hate that. Either roll it in to the menu prices or don’t do it at all. Adding a conspicuous £1.50 for seemingly no reason just pisses people off.

Plane Food on Urbanspoon

3 comments

  1. That’s so awesome that Gordon Ramsay has a restaurant in the airport terminal! Sounds delish too, I’m also a sucker for all things harissa.

Leave a Reply

