Bea’s of Bloomsbury – Bloomsbury

It’s very difficult to be a foodie and not gain weight, so for me something has to go, and that thing is superfluous cakes. But last week I made an exception for Bea’s of Bloomsbury.

Truth is, I’d been avoiding Bea’s ever since the Londonist Cupcake Throwdown. Their chocolate orange cake was just too good to pass up (it came in a very respectable second place) and I figured if I ever walked into the actual shop, I would have to admit immediate defeat. I was right.

I went there with Lizzie of Yelp fame for some naughty Thursday afternoon treats including the Rocky Road Shortbread:

And the Tiramisu Cupcake:

The Rocky Road Shortbread was heavenly. A buttery flaky crust that burst into a million pieces if you tried to cut it in half (a testament that it may deserve to be eaten greedily). The fudge was rich and the homemade marshmallow was  fluffy, delicate and sweet.

The Tiramisu Cupcake was also spectacular. The cake, perhaps a bit dense for my taste was spot on with hints of vanilla and marscapone and the buttercream frosting some of the best I’ve ever had. Bea’s knows frosting.

Everything was gorgeous, but I knew we had to stop there. The cakes and quiches and everything butter-laden on the counter started to call my name, as if to say, “Come on Melanie, you tried two of us – we’re not so bad. Come back every day. Perhaps an extra stone would suit you…”

That’s when I immediately trotted over to the Fitness First Holborn for a good long run.

Bea's of Bloomsbury on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

