Trattoria Lucca – Camden

I’ll be honest, my meal here wasn’t fantastic, but I still really loved it. Why? The place is freakin’ adorable.

Just a short walk away from Camden tube, and you feel like you’ve stepped back in time and travelled a few thousand miles east to a tiny cafe in Rome circa 1963. All that was missing was the checkered table cloths.

As we walked in, we were greeted enthusiastically by three old Italian men with varying thickness of mustaches. Instantly I felt like I was with family (and I’m not even Italian!). My friend and I sat by the window with full view of the cute bar and amazing looking dessert cart. Unfortunately we were running a bit late, so had to get stuck right into the mains.

I went with the Veal Scalloppine with Tomatoes and Garlic:

The plate came out first with just the veal, but as a nice touch, the roasted potatoes and green beans were delicately served by another server separately.  I couldn’t fault the sides, but the tomato sauce on the veal was a bit much. It was gloopy and completely overpowered the meat, which was probably quite nice, but I guess I’ll never know.

It’s cheap, cheerful, and while I wouldn’t go out of my way to rush back, I’d happily go again. I just wouldn’t get the same thing.

Trattoria Lucca on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

