Om Nom Nom’ing in Austria

As you read this, I am currently en route from Malaga to Lagos in Portugal, having been lucky enough to secure the three days off between the Easter holidays and the Royal Wedding giving me a fantastic 11 days off in a row. But as I’m away now, I figured I may as well get this post up about my last trip: (very) late season skiing in Austria.

And while the snow was more of a slush, I still managed to get a bit of some downhill action. The rest of it was filled with meat. Quite a lot of it too. Schnitzels, sausages, you name it.

In fact, meat was pretty much the theme of the Austrian dining experience. For example the Bernerwürstel mit Pommes (Bacon-wrapped Sausages with Fries):

…and the good ol’ Würst mit Pommes, which oddly ended up resembling a half-peeled banana:

We also tried the local dessert – Germknö-del mit Vanillesauce und Mohn (Yeast dumpling with Custer and Poppy):


This was… interesting. I still don’t know if I’m a fan or not. The vanilla sauce was lovely, a custard with a velvety texture. The dumpling was fine, but the fig filling (that was a surprise) and crumbled poppy powder over top, made for an odd combination of flavours.

A favourite of mine was the Lungauer Kasnockn (Languor Cheese Dumplings):

Sampled at the top of Hochwurzen mountain on the only good day of snow we had, this was the only classic Austrian main course I had that didn’t didn’t have pork as the main ingredient. Somewhere between gnocchi and macaroni and cheese, it was dammed rich, but very very tasty.

But my favourite bit was just a little something we picked up at the market to go along with breakfast. Nutoka: the off-brand Nutella that made me giggle every time I screwed off the lid:

See you all when I’m back from the bank holiday extravaganza!

Leave a Reply

