The Best Cupcake in London (revisited?)

A long, long time ago, my friend TikiChris invited me to take part in the Londonist judging of the Best Cupcake in London. It was a career highlight.

The winner, by a landslide, was Faircake, who produced a jaw-droppingly amazing White Chocolate and Limoncello pieces of heaven:

Two years later, I’ve found myself wondering if we really ought to have another competition, because I’ve tried two different bakeries recently that I think could give Faircake a real run for their money.

The first: The Vanilla Rainbow Bakery in Richmond, which I got to try at work – the byproduct of a client meeting where everyone was apparently watching their figures…

The cake was spectacularly moist, and the  butter cream frosting whipped to perfection. I only wished I’d grabbed a picture of it.

Shortly after declaring my love for Vanilla Rainbow, a friend of mine suggested I try his cousin’s bakery, PJR Cupcakes. Within 24 hours ‘The Cupcake King‘ himself, hand-delivered 12 good-sized cakes to my front door.

I am a very lucky girl.

While the cake wasn’t quite as fluffy as Vanilla Rainbow, it had a good spring, and the cream cheese frosting on the Red Velvet cupcake was delectable. So pretty too!

So, Chris – what do you say? Time for another round of judging?

2 comments

  1. It’s a brill idea and one that’s been a long time coming. I’ll look into the logistics and stuff. I assume you’d be up to be a judge again ;)

    Thanks!
    Chris

  2. Thank you for your comments on my bakery cupcakes, glad you liked them. Looks like those months of perfecting the sponge and buttercream paid off!
    Melissa, The Vanilla Rainbow Bakery :-)

Leave a Reply

